Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a good holiday, we did.  We stay home, the kids made out like bandits.  You gotta love family and great neighbors who love to spoil your kids.  The Hubby is getting home earlier because with the weather being very very chilly they are not working as much.  This weekend is going to be another 4-day weekend for him.  It has it’s ups and downs but the kids (for the most part) love having him home.

Now that I’ve updated you a bit, Welcome back those faithful readers of mine that keep checking back seeing if I’ve posted and Welcome new readers that found my blog during my break.  I’m going to be posting much more regular now.  I’ve even have blog ideas written down on my day planner.

With the New Year here, now is a good time to reflect on the previous year.  The ups and down both.  Here’s a simple list of my ups and downs, ups first!

  1. Moving to North Dakota.  The biggest up ever.  We are so much happier here, we may be making less money here than we did in Arizona but we have much more lee-way that we did.
  2. Meeting our new neighbors.  My neighbor Lisa is the absolute best.  Along with her family.
  3. Learning to crochet.  I love being able to make things (other than babies!).  With it I’m able to explore new avenues for making money.
  4. Starting this blog.  <– this kinda speaks for itself.

Downs:

  1. Breaking our rent in Arizona.  By doing that we totally ruined our credit rating but if we had not, we may have ended up on the street because:
  2. Hubby losing his job.  Well, he actually quit but he was doing the foreman job and was being toyed with about the raise he was suppose to receive.
  3. My teeth getting worse.  I’m holding off until we can afford getting work done on them, but it’s a painful process.

There may not seem like I have a lot of ups but the biggest one, moving to North Dakota, has been best and ongoing one.  Seriously, I thank the deities weekly for the chance to move here.

Now onto the resolutions for 2009.  I don’t normally make resolutions but this year I am.  I’m even writing down how I’m going to succeed at them.  If I just write what I want to change without also deciding how to do the change, it will never happen!

  1. Work out more. ~ We have a Playstation 2 that we have DDR with dance pads that is great exercise. I’m going to do it 3x’s a week.
  2. Keep the house cleaner. ~ Kind of self-explaining but I hate cleaning house!  It just gets dirty again!  But this is how I plan on doing it (totally subject to change of course!)                   -Pick up toys everyday.  Kids will help.    -Do Dishes every morning and night.  -Clean my computer desk once a week.  -Sweep every other day.  -Vacuum once a week.
  3. Do more of my crafts. ~ Every Saturday or Sunday spend at least 2 -3 hours in my craft room.
  4. More loving with my husband. (I was going to use the “S” word but I don’t want those kind of hit on the blog) Every other day!!!!
  5. Weekly baking. ~ I have yet to chose what day yet but I love having cookies, rolls and bread already home and baked.  Less temptation to buy “easy” food when grocery shopping.

I think the hardest one for me to do will be 1, 2, and 3.  I’m lazy and I admit it.  But I’m trying to change.  And this is a start!

2 Responses

  1. Glad ND was such a boon to you. I’m in that province that sits on top of you. 🙂 It was the best move I ever made, too.

    At first, I thought… geez! It’s hard to be a nature loving pagan when half the year is frozen under! However, I’ve had a grand time learning to embrace the beauty and now-ness of winter and much as any other season. Imbolc has never been more important to me than now. LOL!

    I think of us Northern witches as the sturdier stuff. We have to be to stay warm! 🙂

    P.S. I also hear ya about the housekeeping. That’s one of my personal challenges for the year, too.

  2. What a great list of things to accomplish this year!! I am glad your loving crocheting. I am actually going to start a “Stitch N Bitch” here at the house with some girlfriends. Just a craft night where we can gather, talk, and work on projects. I am soooo seriously into knitting right now its not funny lol. I keep it up and hubby is going to call the craft stores and have them ban me!Happy New Year to you too!

Leave a Reply

