Owwy!

Little background here, I have horrible teeth.  Always have, but since having my kiddos they’ve become worse.  At this stage I’m doing all I can to ease the pain until I have the insurance or the money to have all my teeth pulled and false ones put in.

Well last night was a killer.  Here I am laying in bed trying to sleep when all of the sudden my teeth decide it is time to hurt, and hurt they did.  So I get up to do a hydrogen peroxide rinse (equal parts water and hydrogen peroxide), and to put on my numbing paste,it’s actually for sore from dentures and braces but I use it because it works and stays put.  That usually works for me (with the added benefit of cleaner than normal teeth).   While sitting at the computer waiting for the paste to go to work, I must have shifted or swallowed and BAM!  Pain though the teeth.  My teeth are bad enough that some of them have exposed roots, and that paste + exposed roots = pain.  So I run back to the bathroom and do another hydro rinse to get all the paste off.  So now what do I do?  I’m in near tears because of the pain and I can’t find the Tylenol.  Well I come to the internet.  Here’s some of the home remedies I found and which one/s I used and how I rate them.

  •  Chew a clove or apply clove oil to a cavity in a decayed tooth.  (I’ve used powder clove before, it works but not fully)
  • Toothache is often alleviated by placing a small piece of onion on the affected tooth.  Or even eating an onion a day. (I tried this last night, I didn’t feel much pain reducing)
  • Garlic clove when placed on the aching tooth provides immediate relief from pain. ( I almost tried this last night but then realized no garlic cloves!)
  • Pouring few 3-4 drops of vanilla extract on the aching tooth will immediately provide relief. (I shuddered at this thought)
  • Rinse with warm salt water. (Salt water whether it’s hot, cold or warm makes me puke.)
  • Shot of rum or vodka, swish around and then hold as long as you can in the area of pain. ( Goddess be praised!!!  It worked!  It gets in all the little nook and crannies, and seeps into the gums and numbs it all!!!!)

Of course I know by the time the round of pain stops I will hate the smell and taste of vodka but at least my mouth doesn’t hurt.  And when my mouth doesn’t hurt, I’m not a grumpy momma, and the household likes that.

So what do you do for a toothache?

6 Responses

  1. Clove water! I boil a tbsp of cloves with 1 cup of water. I keep simmering, adding water as needed, until it is very dark and pungent. Strain…..rinse mouth (doing the same as you did with the vodka). I swear by this, with impacted wisdom teeth and sore gums—it’s the only thing that works.

  2. You have my heartfelt sympathy, toothache is awful. I’ve often said that i’d rather give birth than have earache or toothache. I’ve used the oil of cloves thing, it doesn’t relieve all the pain but it does make it a bit less severe. Hope you get sorted soon x

  3. Have you tried calling your local social services type place and see if they have any dentists who do “pro bono” type work for the uninsured? They might be able to point you in a direction for help. Couldn’t hurt to give it a try.

    No one should have to live in tooth pain. That is the absolute worst!

  4. I have the same problem with my teeth. Ever since I had the kids they just get worse and worse. The best thing I have ever found is a combo of the vanilla and vodka trick. Buy whole vanilla beans or use pure vanilla extract and mix it with the vodka. If you use the beans, you just let them soak in it to draw out the vanilla. Then do what you did and just swish and hold.

    Clove oil directly on the spot usually helps some too. Watch out for taking too many pain killers. They can really screw up your liver.

    I wish you luck. And I am keeping my fingers crossed. I have not had much pain at all recently so I am just hoping they stay ok for a bit.

    I can remember being up all night and just wanting to slam my head into a brick wall and knock myself out the pain was so bad. I feel for you.

    Good luck. Have you checked into the possibility of a dental school in your area? They will usually have a discounted rate for work. Also, with the pain you are in, someone may be willing to work with you and take payments/ do a little work at a time. I know what it is like to have no money to take care of yourself. But, remember, if you don’t take care of yourself then you acnnot take care of your family!

  5. Been there, done that! Ouch! Clove oil is the best! It tastes vial but you use a bit on a cotton tip and stand over the sink while you drool, but ahhhh the bliss of pain relief is worth the yucky taste! I used it till the nerves died! Bad I know but it actually works!

  6. Ouchy! I don’t have toothaches but clove I have heard does work. Have you looked into a local college that has a dental program? That’s what my husband did before he had full coverage and they do really cheap exams and cleanings. Not sure if they would do serious work but worth a try to start off maybe.

Leave a Reply

