What is Pagan?

What is pagan? According to Merriam-Webster dictionary online pagan is define as this:

1: heathen 1; especially : a follower of a polytheistic religion (as in ancient Rome)2: one who has little or no religion and who delights in sensual pleasures and material goods : an irreligious or hedonistic person

Since I had no idea what polytheistic meant I looked it up, it means: belief in or worship of more than one god. Big words here people!

What really caught my eye was this: one who has little or no religion and who delights in sensual pleasures and material goods. I don’t know about you, but while I wouldn’t mind delighting in sensual pleasures, that is not my whole life. My life is my husband and my children, not sensual pleasures and material goods.

Merriam-Webster also had a definition for Neo-pagan: : a person who practices a contemporary form of paganism (as Wicca).

While that is true, not all pagans are wiccan. (side note, did you know spell-checker saids wiccan is spelled wrong?)

I highly recommend this site. It has many more definitions along with references for all of the facts they state.

The thesaurus states this for pagan: a person who does not worship the God of the Bible <regarded the native peoples of the lands that they conquered as pagans who were uncivilized and inherently inferior>

Pagan in a sense, is anyone who does not worship the Christian God. Key word here is Christian. That’s it in a nutshell.

We’re not here to convert people or brain wash them. We are here to help those in the Pagan community feel at home, in the home.

5 Responses

  1. Wow! Looks like you are off to a good start! Good luck with your blog!

  2. Great blog! Thanks for stopping by mine, I am going to add you to my blogroll so I can stop by regularly.

  3. Just came here from my friend Mrs. B.’ blog, Confessions of a Pagan Soccer Mom. Can’t wait to see your ideas!

    Couldn’tt agree with you more about these paganism definitions…

    Adding you to my blogroll.

    Kisses and bright blessings from Nydia.

  4. Hi,

    I’m enjoying your posts so far.
    I’ve always liked the definition of pagan that means:
    “People of or from the country”
    I’m not sure of its source but it is one that I have read about the most. And I like to think of it in terms of myself since I grew up on a farm.
    Its great to get the term out there for all to see. It is amazing how much confusion the word generates.

  5. “one who has little or no religion and who delights in sensual pleasures and material goods. ”

    I always found that so strange.. Almost as if one must be pagan to enjoy “sensual pleasures”…
    Not to mention it always sounds like that is the only reason we are pagan..
    Funny, if I were to list all the reasons why I am pagan, I don’t think that “so I may enjoy sensual pleasures” would even be on it..

Leave a Reply

